In front of a crowd of more than 2,000 people, nine Alabama nursing homes were recognized for outstanding achievement in health care quality.

Each nursing home received the American Health Care Association’s Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award. It is part of the AHCA’s National Quality Award Program.

Alabama’s award recipients are:

  • Bill Nichols State Veterans Home, Alexander City
  • Capitol Hill Healthcare & Rehab First, Montgomery
  • Crowne Health Care of Montgomery, Montgomery
  • Diversicare Park Place, Selma
  • McGuffey Healthcare Center & Rehab First, Gadsden
  • Piedmont Health Care Center, Piedmont
  • Shelby Ridge Rehab Select, Alabaster
  • Wesley Place on Honeysuckle, Dothan
  • Westside Terrace & Rehab First, Dothan

The awards were presented during the AHCA’s 69th Annual Convention and Exposition in San Diego, California. These centers join 70 other Alabama nursing homes that have earned the Bronze award.

To earn the Bronze award, skilled nursing care centers develop an organizational profile with fundamental performance elements such as vision and mission statements and an assessment of customers’ expectations. Bronze applicants must also demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained examiners review each Bronze application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria.

Next Step on the Quality Journey

As recipients of the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award, the centers may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Silver – Achievement in Quality Award.

Trylene Arnold of Bill Nichols State Veterans Home, Sharon Baker of Capitol Hill Healthcare & Rehab First, Marie Holling of Crowne Health Care of Montgomery, Dennis Davis of Diversicare of Park Place, Tina Bowlin of McGuffey Healthcare Center & Rehab First, Faith Simmons of Piedmont Health Care Center, Roderick Watkins of Shelby Ridge Rehab Select and Kristie Hughes of Westside Terrace Healthcare & Rehab First. Not pictured is Wesley Place on Honeysuckle.


About the AHCA National Quality Awards

Implemented by the American Health Care Association in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. The program assists providers of long-term and post-acute care services in achieving their performance excellence goals. The program has three levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold.

Related articles: